assessing how you learn

One (of the many many many) things I learned in my first year in PA school was the importance discovering which type of learner you are. Are you auditory, visual, kinesthetic, tactile, something that is not mentioned here, or a mix? I’m pretty sure everyone is a mix, but it may depend on which test you take. Secondo me, this is très très important. Not only is it important in learning everything you could ever want to learn, but it is important in learning languages too! Did you know that’s where I was going with this? 

Without further ado (ado, not adieu), click here to find out your learning type. Or just google search learning style quizzes and you can usually find one. Then come back to discuss!

I myself, am 59% visual, 24% kinesthetic, and 18% auditory. So, if you are close to being the type of learner I am, you probably find this blog more useful than someone who isn’t. Uhhhhh, Uh-oh, this is the first time I am thinking of this. Noted. 

So now take this info and apply it to your language learning! Auditory learner? Use podcasts, YouTube, and books on tape! Visual learner? YouTube, Workbooks, free language learning apps! Visual and auditory? Movies with or without subtitles! Kinesthetic? Try to write in the language you are learning! Use a dry erase board. (This is particularly helpful when learning a language that has a different alphabet like Arabic!)

Ok, come at me with your tips and comments on this post!

Un bacione,

Layne Alyssa

2 thoughts on “assessing how you learn”

  1. Great blog, love the Siri idea on your other post too 🙂 So apparently I am 50% Auditory 30% Kinesthetic 20% Visual. This helps explain why I have found the Michel Thomas way of learning easier than the Rosetta Stone way. Very informative, Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

