Arancini and Fresh Pasta

This past weekend I hosted a pasta-making party! This is actually the third pasta party I’ve done. Pretty soon, I’m gonna be a pro! So this pasta party thing kind of came out of just us and some of our friends getting together to make a bunch of pasta and several sauces. Sage, fig, and goat cheese ravioli and salmon and cream spaghetti. Yum. And since it is a time consuming process, it just makes since to spend an afternoon making it with friends and then to making extra!

Side Note: You may notice on this blog that I reference Italian culture, language, and food more often than other cultures and their languages and food. As a little disclaimer, I am married to an Italian who was born and raised in Italy. So, I reference Italy a lot because I have a lot of experience with it! 
My second pasta party was spent with my parents and good family friends, making fettuccine with bolognese sauce. We added pasta made with semolina flour to this party! So good. And, lastly, we had last weekend’s party. I just finished my didactic year of Physician Assistant school, so some other PA-S2’s (what what) decided to celebrate by making copious amounts of pasta (although is it really ever enough?) and throwing some vino into the mix too. And (this absolutely amazing) cake! We made fettuccine and ravioli. <<Pause for easy pasta recipe>>

1 lb of pasta (we usually make 4 lbs each time. it freezes well!)

  • Put 3.25 cups of unbleached, all-purpose flour on the counter
  • Make a well in said flour
  • Add 4 large eggs to center well
  • Use fork to slowly & gradually incorporate eggs into flour
  • Use hands to finish mixing ingredients together
  • If dough is too dry, add water a tsp at a time
  • Cover ball of dough tightly in plastic wrap and let dough rest for 1 hour
  • Roll out and cut pasta. We have both kitchen aid with pasta attachments and a hand-crank pasta roller/cutter. Both work well!

For our sauces, we made spinach & ricotta ravioli filling, bolognese, and classic carbonara. The ravioli filling and bolognese sauce turned out WONDERFULLY. They were both very flavorful, but not troppo salati. Comunque, the carbonara, which is a common offering of bacon, egg, and cheesy goodness at our house, fell short. I didn’t see it coming, but the soft freshness of the eggy pasta contradicted the lack of sauce found in the carbonara recipe. As weird as it is to say, use a boxed, store bought pasta when making carbonara. However, the problem could have lied with the fact that the carbonara was our third pasta course of the night and we were pieni and all pasta-ed out.

ravioli

So pasta night was a success! And because I have a few weeks off now before starting clinicals, meaning I have time to cook, I decided to keep the creativity flowing by trying my hand at arancini. The first and only time I have had arancini was in Riomaggiore at a place called Siamo Fritti. See their wonderful creation below.

They sold all sorts of fried foods, as their name explains. My husband cited arancini as a something I had to try culturally-speaking, so even though it was 10 am and we were walking around in the blistering heat, that’s what we did. It was just okay. So basically it is bolognese (meat sauce) + a bit of cheese, wrapped in creamy rice (made to look like an egg), then breaded and fried. Oh, and there is some saffron in there for coloring. But I didn’t mess with that mess in my recipe. The name actually means little oranges due to their shape and color, and they have roots in Sicilia (Sicily!). 

So I think they turned out how they were supposed to, but this is probably the last time I make them. Mainly because they are like really fried and made my kitchen smell like the point of no return from fried. I mean my eyes burned all night from either oil droplets in the air or maybe the smoke that filled the apartment when I burned a batch of them. Who knows, really? Everything was just full of friend smell! OK, I digress. All in all, not bad, but I won’t make them again. On another unrelated note, anyone want to help me eat all these little oranges?

I have linked most of the recipes I mentioned in this blog, but if anyone would like more information on recipes I used or just about making pasta or arancini in general, don’t hesitate to leave a comment below!

Note: the arancini recipe I used is in Italian, but it has a video! Might be worth it for ya to learn Italian just to use this recipe website…giallo zafferano. I think actually some recipes are in English too. Everything is so good and they make it easy to make! 

Un bacione,

Layne Alyssa

Leave a Reply

