the setup

Allora, so one thing I love is languages. I have loved them since I began Spanish in 6th grade. At first, it was the idea of speaking to someone, namingly one of my best friends Rachel, in a foreign language that no one could understand. I mean, would it not be the coolest thing? At that time, I, of course, underestimated how much time it takes to properly learn a language. I mean, how much time it takes even to learn it enough to make “secret” sentences between the two of you. It takes a while, especially when it is your very first foreign language. Rachel and I never really made it to where we could secretly and discreetly talk about all the other middle-schoolers, but the experience instilled in me a yearning to “learn all the languages”! Of course, it was not only the languages, but everything that comes with learning a language. That’s the culture…the foods, colloquial sayings, history, and the different perspective on life! Sigh…that’s like the best thing.

I’ve learned the beginnings of LOTS of languages. And by beginnings, I mean as much as you can learn in one of these survival phrase books…

phrasebook pile

 

So, as you can imagine, at the snap of the finger, I can give you random words in Mandarin, Japanese, and even Hawaiian. However, spouting random words does not fluency make. But it can be really satisfying! For me, the desire of fluency is what may keep me on track long-term, but isn’t it the small victories that keep you going day to day? Like meeting a native speaker for the first time of the language you’re learning, saying “hello” in that language, and actually being understood (total rush).

So yes, fluency is the goal, but never underestimate the building blocks that get you there. They are necessary and awesome, and if you like them as much as me (or are able to at all follow this post), you are in the right place! I will dive into language learning (“all the languages!”), cultures, and even food in this blog, all in the hopes that it will pull humanity closer together (I mean, that is the long-term, profound mission, which I totally support, but that will likely not be the outcome of this blog). But really, whatever you love about learning languages, there is something for you here on this blog! I know because I’m writing it.

Un Bacione,

Layne Alyssa

Leave a Reply

